top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlatar

So I'm As Fast As General Grievous

Updated: Jul 30, 2022



Okay, so General Grievous (from Star Wars) is stated in Legends as being able to attack up to 20 times per second (5 per arm), and I've confirmed this by watching videos of him really slowly. Okay, so that's pretty fast, right?

But I can match that.


I love swords. I have a bunch of Nerf and cardboard ones I and my friends spar with. I just took a video of myself swinging two swords at once. The result? My speed is 4 strikes per second per arm, 8 total. When I'm spinning the swords, I got 5 per arm per second—the same as Grievous.


Now, this quote from the RotS novelization:

The electrodrivers powering Grievous's mechanical arms let each of the four attack thrice in a single second; integrated by combat algorithms in the bio-droid's electronic network of peripheral processors, each of the twelve strikes per second came from a different angle with different speed and intensity, an unpredictably broken rhythm of slashes, chops, and stabs of which every single one could take Obi-Wan's life. Not one touched him.


This indicates "Grievous wasn't just throwing 20 strikes, he was throwing 20 strikes with different speed, power, angels, and forms to try to overwhelm Obi-Wan's defense."


Therefore, in raw speed I can indeed match Grievous, but his movements are more technical. My overall fighting style, however is more technical and less suicidal than most fictional ones, let alone most Star Wars ones. Fictional sword fights generally make no sense.

5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page